Ghaziabad is one of the five districts of the Meerut Division. Divisional Commissioner, whose headquarter is at Meerut, holds charge of the division. He is the link between the districts and the government and supervises the administration as well as the planning and the development activities of its districts.


The district has been divided into three sub division for purpose of revenue & general administration: Ghaziabad, Modinagar and Loni. The centrally situated tehsil of Ghaziabad has three pargana's, i.e.,  Loni, Dasna & Jalalabad. The Modi Nagar tehsil which has only one  pargana named Jalalabad  is in the northern part.


The general administration of the district (the basic unit of administration) is vested in the district officer who holds a key post and is the pivot of the district administrative machinery. He represents the State Government and is responsible for the proper execution of all the government orders.

As a Collector his main function is to ensure the collection of land revenue and other govt. dues as well as the proper maintenance of land records. As District Magistrate his main duty is to maintain law and order with the help of the magistracy and the police. In his capacity as District Magistrate he has under him  five Addl. Distt. Magistrates, three S.D.M's, two Addl. city magistrate and a City Magistrate with whose help he runs the district administration. Each tehsil has a resident Tehsildar who is assisted by a number of Naib-Tehsildars.

For the purpose of law and order in the district there is a police organisation which is headed by a Senior Superintendent of Police. He is assisted by S.P.(city), S.P.(Rural) and seven Dy. Superintendents. For administrative convenience the district is divided into 17 police stations, each under a Station Officer. Below the Station Officer there is sub-inspectors, head constables and under him several constables. The strength of the staff in a police station varies according to the area and the amount of work.

Another important pillar of the administrative  machinery is the Judiciary of which the District & Sessions Judge is the head. As session judge his is the highest criminal court and a district judge is the highest civil court as well. Appeals against the decisions of the civil judge are heard by him and those against his orders by the High Court of Judicature at Allahabad.

In his capacity as district Officer, he is assisted by a number of officers as given   below:-

  1. Chief Development Officer
  2. Addl. District Magistrate   (Executive)
  3. Addl. District Magistarte   (City)
  4. Addl. District Magistrate   (Finance & Revenue)
  5. Addl. District Magistrate   (Land Acquisition)
  6. City Magistrate
  7. Dy. Collectors in charge of sub-divisions
  8. Treasury Officer
  9. Tehsildars
  10. Settlement Officer (Consolidation)
  11. Dy. Director (Factories)
  12. Other Magistrate
  13. Regional Transport Officer
  14. Distt. Development Officer
  15. Distt. Supply Officer
  16. Distt. Panchayat Raj Officer
  17. Distt. Agriculture Officer
  18. Distt. Cane Officer
  19. Asstt. Registrar, Cooperative Societies
  20. General Manager, UP Roadways
  21. Chief Medical Officer
  22. Distt. Social Welfare Officer
  23. Distt. Probation Officer
  24. General Manager, Distt. Industries Centre
  25. District Inspector of School
  26. Assiatant Director (Information)
  27. Divisional Forest Officer
  28. Superintendent Distt Jail
  29. Addl. Commissioner, Commercial Tax
  30. Executive Engineer, Irrigation
  31. Superintendent Engineer, PWD
  32. Executive Engineer, Tubewell
  33. Executive Engineer, RED
  34. Superintendent Engineer, UP Power Corp.
  35. Distt. Employment Officer
  36. Asstt. Excise Commissioner
  37. Dy. Labour Commissioner
  38. Dy. Regional Marketing Officer
  39. Chief Live Stock Officer
  40. Senior Prosecution Officer
  41. Block Development Officer in charge of Blocks
  42. Distt. Horticulture Officer
  43. Distt. Audit Officer, Coop. Society
  44. Distt. Audit Officer, Local Fund
  45. Asstt. Director National Savings
  46. Asstt. Director Fisheries
  47. Distt. Sports Officer
  48. Soil Conservation Officer
  49. Basic Shiksha Adhikari
  50. Distt. Program Officer (ICDS)
  51. Distt. Gromoudyog Officer
  52. Chief Engineer, Jal Nigam
  53. Addl. Distt. Development Officer (Social Welfare)


  1. Addl. Commissioner, Income Tax
  2. Commissioner (Appeal), Custom & Central Excise
  3. Superintendent, Regional Passport Office
  4. Senior Superintendent of Posts
  5. General Manager, Telecom
  6. Chief General Manager, ALTTC
  7. CPWD Training Centre
  8. Director, Directorate of Central Mines Safety, Ghaziabad Region
  9. Administrative Controller, Structural Engineering Research Centre (SERC), A Establishment of CSIR
  10. Director, Pharmacopoeia Laboratory for Indian Medicine (PLIM), Ministry of Health & Family Welfare
  11. Director, Homeopathic Pharmacopeia Laboratory
  12. Joint Drug Controller, Central Drugs Standard Control Organisation (North Zone)
  13. Central Power Research Institute (CPRI), Regional Test Laboratory, NTPC Campus, Murad Nagar
  14. Marketing Officer, Regional Agmark Laboratory, Ministry of Agriculture
  15. Asstt. Director, Directorate of Wheat Development, Ministry of Agriculture
  16. Dy. Director, Regional Implementation Office, Ministry of Home Affairs ( Deptt of Official Language)
  17. Director, Bureau of Indian Standard, Ghaziabad branch office, GT Road
  18. Regional Director, Ministry of Food & Consumer Affair, Deptt of Food & Civil Supply
  19. Director, National Biofertilizer Development Centre, Ministry of Agriculture
  20. Director, Food Research & Standardisation Laboratory, Ministry of Health & Family Welfare
  21. Dy. Secretary, University Grant Commission (North Region Office), Vikas Minar, Ghaziabad
  22. Estate Officer, Directorate of Estates, Ministry of Urban Development, CGO Complex
  23. Bharat Electronics Limited (BEL), A Central Govt. Undertaking, Sahibabad
  24. Central Electronics Limited (CEL), A Central Govt. Undertaking, Sahibabad
  25. Food Corporation of India (FCI),   A Central Govt. Undertaking, Hapur
  26. Central Warehouse, Sahibabad, Loni, Ghaziabad
  27. Wing Commander, Hindon Airforce Station, Ghaziabad
  28. General Manager, Ordinance Factory, Murad Nagar
  29. Postal Staff College, Ghaziabad
  30. CBI Academy, Ghaziabad
  31. National Informatics Centre , Distt. Unit, Collectorate, Ghaziabad